• LOGIN
    Login with username and password
Repository logo

BORIS Portal

Bern Open Repository and Information System

  • Publications
  • Theses
  • Research Data
  • Projects
  • Organizations
  • Researchers
  • More
  • Collections
  • Statistics
  • LOGIN
    Login with username and password
Repository logo
Unibern.ch
  1. Home
  2. Publications
  3. Case-fatality rate of major bleeding events in patients on dual antiplatelet therapy after percutaneous coronary intervention: A systematic review and meta-analysis.

Case-fatality rate of major bleeding events in patients on dual antiplatelet therapy after percutaneous coronary intervention: A systematic review and meta-analysis.

Details
Files
DOI
10.48350/174635
Publisher DOI
10.1002/rth2.12834
PubMed ID
36349260
Abstract
Background

Assessment of the case-fatality rate (CFR) of major bleeding on dual antiplatelet therapy (DAPT) may improve balancing risks and benefits of different durations of DAPT following percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI).

Objectives

To determine the CFR of major bleeding in patients on DAPT after PCI and to compare rates among different durations of DAPT.

Methods

Medline, Embase, and CENTRAL were searched from inception to August 2021 for randomized trials that reported fatal bleeding among patients who were randomized to ≥1 month of DAPT following PCI. Summary estimates for CFRs of major bleeding were calculated using the random-effects inverse-variance method. Statistical heterogeneity was evaluated using the I 2 statistic.

Results

Of 2777 citations obtained by the search, 15 (48%) of 31 potentially eligible studies were excluded because fatal bleeding was not reported, leaving 16 studies that were included in the analysis. Overall, there were 823 major bleeding events including 91 fatal events in 48,884 patients who were assigned to receive DAPT during study follow-up. The CFR of major bleeding was 10.8% (95% confidence interval [CI], 7.1-16.2; I 2 = 50%) in the entire study population, and 13.8% (95% CI, 6.5-27.1; I 2 = 28%), 11.2% (95% CI, 6.7-18.0; I 2 = 0%), and 5.8% (95% CI, 3.0-11.1; I 2 = 0%) in those on short-term (≤6 months; n = 16,553), standard-term (12 months; n = 19,453), and long-term DAPT (>12 months; n = 10,238), respectively.

Conclusion

Fatal bleeding is not reported in many studies evaluating DAPT after PCI. The CFR of major bleeding on DAPT is substantial and may be higher in the first 12 months of DAPT than during long-term DAPT.
Date Issued
2022-10
Publication Type
Article
Subject(s)
600 Technology > 610 Medicine & health
Subjects
bleeding case‐fatality rate drug‐eluting stent dual antiplatelet therapy meta‐analysis percutaneous coronary intervention
Language(s)
en
Author(s)
Tritschler, Tobias  orcid-logo
Clinic of General Internal Medicine  
Patel, Anuj
Kraaijpoel, Noémie
Bhatt, Deepak L
De Luca, Giuseppe
Di Santo, Pietro
Feres, Fausto
Costa, Ricardo A
Hibbert, Benjamin
Isshiki, Takaaki
Le Gal, Grégoire
Castellucci, Lana A
Additional Credits
Clinic of General Internal Medicine  
Journal
Research and practice in thrombosis and haemostasis
Publisher
Wiley
ISSN
2475-0379
Access(Rights)
open.access
Show full item
BORIS Portal
Bern Open Repository and Information System
Build: 24f0a9 [ 4.09. 8:55]
Explore
  • Projects
  • Funding
  • Publications
  • Research Data
  • Organizations
  • Researchers
  • Audiovisual Material
  • Software & other digital items
  • Events
More
  • About BORIS Portal
  • BORIS Portal & Open Science
  • Send Feedback
  • Cookie settings
  • Service Policy
Follow us on
  • Mastodon
  • YouTube
  • LinkedIn
UniBe logo
Repository logo COAR Notify